6/15 Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Snacks!


Breakfast: 

Today I gave steel cut oats a try! I’ve never had them before and I wanted to switch up my oatmeal regimen. They are good, especially with some dried fruit and agave nectar! I think they have a different more sharp taste than oatmeal. I also had organic blueberries, strawberries and some cauliflower!

Image

Lunch:

I didn’t have much of a lunch today because I woke up at 11:30. I made myself some vegan super charge me cookies again! I loved them so much that I thought I would make them again!

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup oats

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 ground flaxseed 

1 tsp baking powder

3 Tbsp nut butter–I used organic crunchy peanut butter

1/2 cup black strap molasses (gives it an earthy flavor and is a much healthy alternative as opposed to honey or maple syrup)

2 TBSP coconut oil, melted 

1/4 tsp sea salt

Mix ins:

1/4-1/2 cup total of carob chips, chia seeds and cranberries, 

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment.

Dump the oats, flour, baking powder, salt and mix-ins into a large mixing bowl and stir.

In a separate bowl combine the flax, nut butter, oil & black strap molasses. Mix to combine thoroughly.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined. If it seems too stiff or dry add a little more oil (this is more likely to happen if you’ve slightly overmeasured the flax, as it is SUPER absorbent).

Form into golf ball sized lumps and put onto the baking sheet, flattening them out as you go.  They will spread but only a little so flatten them to the thickness you want them to end up.

Bake for 10-13 minutes. Don’t cook for any longer or they will be very dry.

Leave to cool on the sheet for a few minutes and then put on a cooling rack. Enjoy!

Image

Dinner:

My dad and I went out for Father’s Day dinner tonight because I work all day at first watch tomorrow. We went to El Toro Bravo. He had a chicken enchilada platter and I had the Cancun Combo with two enchiladas, a hard shell taco, rice and beans! It was sooo delicious. Then we went out to Yogurtology for dessert! I had pomegranate raspberry sorbet with blueberries, almond pieces and carob chips !

Image

 

One thought on “6/15 Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Snacks!

Leave a Reply

